Remember September

6 09 2011

   Yes, I love the music from the ’90s. What’s not to love? Exactly. It’s a bit depressing though to see this alternative genre leave center stage only to be replaced by people like Ke$ha and Lady Gaga. Although they might be somewhat entertaining, I feel like there is a lack of musical talent. It’s not just those two though; it’s a lot of today’s mainstream music.  Don’t let me confuse you, because there are many songs that I like to listen to at different times and  from all different types of genres. I just wish we could go back to the days of Third Eye Blind, Pearl Jam and, of course, the one and only Nirvana.

   Nirvana changed music dramatically. The band popularized alternative rock music and their music was overloading the radio stations. Their second album “Nevermind,” is still regarded as one of the best albums of all times. Sept. 24, 2011 will mark the 2oth anniversary of the release of the chart topping album. This is going to be a big event in the music industry, and I am happy to say that there are new artists out there that are taking the time to recall their favorite albums from that time and pay them some respect. It shows that this music is still important to some and is influential as well. Because these artists are sharing their thoughts and  memories, I’d like to share mine and talk about my favorite album. With all due respect to this album, my favorite album of the ’90s has to be Third Eye Blind’s self-titled album, which was released in 1997. Obviously, there is a big difference in Nirvana and Third Eye Blind seeing how Third Eye Blind is more post-grunge alternative, but I have a respect for good music, and that’s the genre these bands fall in.

    I would guess that 75 percent of the time, the album “Third Eye Blind” stays in my CD player in my truck. It has been in there for God knows how long. I didn’t buy the album when it was released, but I got it in 2000. This album always takes me to the place I want to be and changes the way I feel completely. It’s funny because the hit single “Semi-Charmed Life” from this album is about sex and drugs, but it’s not the words that set it off. When I first heard this song I had no idea what it was talking about and I didn’t care.  It’s actually my favorite song. It’s very catchy, up beat and in a way the music itself is simply motivating to me for some reason. It’s not just this song though, it’s the whole album that is catchy.  This album is loaded with great songs, and you can let the whole thing play through without having to skip songs here and there that aren’t that good. That’s why in the midst of artists remembering the albums of the ’90s out of respect for the 20th anniversary of “Nevermind,” the album “Third Eye Blind” takes the gold for me.

 

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

